Ayatsuri Sakon Episodes

Alternative Titles:
Puppet Master Sakon (English)
Karakuri Zoushi Ayatsuri Sakon (Japanese)
Sakon le Ventriloque (French)
Sakon the Ventriloquist
Tales of Puppetmaster Sakon
人形草紙あやつり左近 (Japanese)
Genres: Action, Horror, Mystery, Shounen
Episodes: 26 Episodes

Status: Finished
Airing Date: Oct 08, 1999

Sakon is the grandson of the famous Bunraku master, Tachibana Zaemon. He is incredibly shy and lacks confidence in himself. However, when he is with his puppet, Ukon, he is able to focus himself and his crime-solving abilities. As a contrast to traditional Bunraku puppeteering, Sakon is an expert ventriloquist. He uses his talent of mimicing and throwing voices to confront the villains and often force a confession. Ukon is a beautiful Bunraku puppet created in 1870, supposedly by the Master puppet-builder Unosuke Koizumi III. But Ukon doesn't act as a good Bunraku puppet should. When he is with Sakon, he is forward, obnoxious, flirtatious, coarse, and very egocentric. Together, Sakon and Ukon travel around Japan, solving mysteries, murders, and horrific crimes. In the meantime, Sakon's aunt Kaoruko, a young and pretty police detective, helps him out and keeps an eye on him.

Back to Top